Events Calendar

Hands On History

Every Monday, Wednesday & Friday at the Kona Coffee Living History Farm, 11a.m.

image

Kona Historical Society’s Kona Coffee Living History Farm in Captain Cook will be having “Hands On History” activities every Monday, Wednesday & Friday, 11a.m. - 1p.m. that help visitors explore Kona’s history in a deeper and more sensory way. Participation is free with the purchase of admission to the farm. The Society hopes this program will help perpetuate these cultural traditions and further preserve the history behind Kona’s coffee industry and its pioneers. This unique program is supported through a grant from Hawaii Tourism Authority.
Come and experience Kona’s Stories!
The schedule for upcoming activities is as follows:


Friday, November 30               Backyard Groceries: Sustainability in the Kitchen Garden with West Hawai’i Master Gardeners

Monday, December 3               Utility Meets Beauty: The Tradition of Sashiko Stitching

Wednesday, December 5         Weaving Tools & Treasures: Lauhala on a Kona Coffee Farm

Friday, December 7                 Floral Philosophy: The Art and Harmony of Ikebana

Monday, December 10             Art & Language: Learning Japanese with Calligraphy

Wednesday, December 12       Balanced Bento: Pickling as a Mainstay of the Japanese Table

Friday, December 14               Backyard Groceries: Sustainability in the Kitchen Garden

Monday, December 17             Beans in the Skillet: Coffee Roasting at Home

Wednesday, December 19       Home Grown Remedies: Kona’s Traditions of Medicinal Gardening

Friday, December 21               Floral Philosophy: The Art and Harmony of Ikebana                

Wednesday, December 26       Balanced Bento: Pickling as a Mainstay of the Japanese Table

Friday, December 28               Backyard Groceries: Sustainability in the Kitchen Garden

Monday, December 31             A Japanese New Year Tradition: Mochi Making!