Events Calendar

Hands On History

Every Monday, Wednesday & Friday at the Kona Coffee Living History Farm, 11a.m.

image

Kona Historical Society’s Kona Coffee Living History Farm in Captain Cook will be having “Hands On History” activities every Monday, Wednesday & Friday, 11a.m. - 1p.m. that help visitors explore Kona’s history in a deeper and more sensory way. Participation is free with the purchase of admission to the farm. The Society hopes this program will help perpetuate these cultural traditions and further preserve the history behind Kona’s coffee industry and its pioneers. This unique program is supported through a grant from Hawaii Tourism Authority.
Come and experience Kona’s Stories!
The schedule for upcoming activities is as follows:

Monday, June 4 - Backyard Groceries: Sustainability in the Kitchen Garden

Wednesday, June 6 - Balanced Bento: Pickles as a Mainstay of the Japanese Table

Friday, June 8 - Art & Language: Learning Japanese with Calligraphy

Monday, June 11 - Beans in the Skillet: Coffee Roasting at Home

Wednesday, June 13 - Home Grown Remedies: Kona’s Traditions of Medicinal Gardening

Friday, June 15 - Floral Philosophy: The Art and Harmony of Ikebana      

Monday, June 18 - Utility Meets Beauty: The Tradition of Sashiko Stitching

Wednesday, June 20 - Weaving Tools & Treasures: Lauhala on a Kona Coffee Farm

Friday, June 22 - Backyard Groceries: Sustainability in the Kitchen Garden

Monday, June 25 - Art & Language: Learning Japanese with Calligraphy

Wednesday, June 27 - Balanced Bento: Pickles as a Mainstay of the Japanese Table

Friday, June 29 - Beans in the Skillet: Coffee Roasting at Home