Events Calendar

Hands On History

Every Monday, Wednesday & Friday at the Kona Coffee Living History Farm, 11a.m.

image

Kona Historical Society’s Kona Coffee Living History Farm in Captain Cook will be having “Hands On History” activities every Monday, Wednesday & Friday, 11a.m. - 1p.m. that help visitors explore Kona’s history in a deeper and more sensory way. Participation is free with the purchase of admission to the farm. The Society hopes this program will help perpetuate these cultural traditions and further preserve the history behind Kona’s coffee industry and its pioneers. This unique program is supported through a grant from Hawaii Tourism Authority.
Come and experience Kona’s Stories!
The schedule for upcoming activities is as follows:

Monday, October 1                 Utility Meets Beauty: The Tradition of Sashiko Stitching

Wednesday, October 3             Weaving Tools & Treasures: Lauhala on a Kona Coffee Farm

Friday, October 5                     Beans in the Skillet: Coffee Roasting at Home

Monday, October 8                 Backyard Groceries: Sustainability in the Kitchen Garden

Wednesday, October 10           Balanced Bento: Pickles as a Mainstay of the Japanese Table

Friday, October 12                   Floral Philosophy: The Art and Harmony of Ikebana

Monday, October 15               Art & Language: Learning Japanese with Calligraphy                

Wednesday, October 17           Beans in the Skillet: Coffee Roasting at Home

Friday, October 19                   Floral Philosophy: The Art and Harmony of Ikebana

Monday, October 22               Fresh Off the Press: Making Tofu in the Family Kitchen

Wednesday, October 24           Balanced Bento: Pickles as a Mainstay of the Japanese Table

Friday, October 26                   Backyard Groceries: Sustainability in the Kitchen Garden

Monday, October 29               Beans in the Skillet: Coffee Roasting at Home

Wednesday, October 31           Backyard Groceries: Sustainability in the Kitchen Garden

Friday, November 2                 Floral Philosophy: The Art and Harmony of Ikebana